Game of Thrones: “The Mountain and the Viper” – Quick Thoughts

Before I start a couple of things. There will be spoilers, don’t go moaning at me when you read something that you haven’t already watched yet ok? If you do I will hold you in as high regard as I hold Dany’s story lines. Secondly, I’m not going to go through everything that happens in the episode, just little things that popped into my head as I watched. Sorted? Good, off we go.

Book wanker alert!

I knew what was coming this week, I knew that we would see Oberyn Martell’s head get squished to a pulp. The funny thing is, the fact that I knew what was coming didn’t dampen the experience at all, if anything it heightened it. I was sat on my sofa with my legs pulled up to my chest and during the face off between the red Viper and the Mountain I was literally shaking. I knew I was about to say goodbye to a character that has been nothing short of sensational (in the books I didn’t care too much for him) and I know what happens off the back of all this but, my god I am stupidly excited to see how it is visualised on TV. And maybe that’s what it is. The book’s characters and stand out moments are probably seen differently by everyone who reads them and it’s amazing to see how they have been brought to life on screen.

We were made to wait for that ending this week though, every character had a small amount of time to progress their story lines (with the exception of Stannis) this week and as good as most of those sections were we were all just waiting to see the red Viper of Dorne take on the Mountain. I thought the fight itself was very well done, it was pretty mesmerising, with every spin of Oberyn’s spear you were drawn further and further into the scene. That ending though…Has their been a more brutal shot on TV? Watching the Mountain push his thumbs into the eyes, hearing Oberyn’s screams, the sound of his head disintegrating and finally, the shot of what was left of his head…harrowing.

It was all going so well...

It was all going so well…

Talking of harrowing, how about that half skinned Ironborn torso at Moat Cailin? Can you imagine being that actor sitting down watching it with his partner? He/She would be having nightmares for weeks. Ramsay Snow, nay Bolton is a vicious little bastard and no matter what Theon has done in the first couple of seasons you just feel sorry for him now. And it looks like they are on the way to Winterfell, I’m sure it’s going to be all sweetness and light returning back there for Theon isn’t it!?

Dany’s story was a little less dull this week with her sending away one of my favourites Ser Jorah. Was Dany too harsh on Jorah? I would say so, yes he gave a little information here and there but the amount of times he has saved her, given her great council and y’know turned down that pardon that was sent his way…But you can also see where she was coming from. I’m said to see the bear go and hopefully we will see him again soon. What is clear in Game of Thrones is that if you don’t die firstly, congratulations and secondly, we will be seeing you again at some point.

Sansa’s all of a sudden grown up hasn’t she? A couple of weeks ago she was scoffing down lemon cakes and building snow castles of Winterfell, what a difference a week makes. It’s going to be interesting seeing Sansa who looks like she has now transformed into something other than a wet blanket to be walked over. Is she starting to play her own game her or has she accepted that she will be a part of Littlefinger’s plans for world domination? Im genuinely interested to see how this plays out (which isn’t something you can always say with Sansa) especially considering it is a deviation from the books.

Fuck Lemon Cakes

Fuck Lemon Cakes

Some other quick thoughts:

– What’s next for The Hound and Arya? They mate it all the way to the Eeyrie to be told that Arya’s Aunt Lysa was dead. Arya let out a genuinely evil laugh and then they cut away…Fine!

– I’m fully expecting Grey Worm to be a full on cockney next season. You know, he struggles learning the common tongue this season, being corrected by his new perv interest and then next year he is fluent. Part of me wants to see another character on the show that has a truly terrible accent, as bad as Jon Snow’s…

– And talking of Jon. Next week is going to be all about him. That whole episode is going to be set at The Wall. here’s looking forward to seven different northern accents in fifty minutes.

– Gilly is still alive Sam, you can stop crying. Ygritte again showing that she is a little softer than the rest of the maniac wildlings she travels with by letting Gilly and baby Sam survive in Mole’s Town.

So as I’ve already mentioned it looks like next weeks episode “The Watchers on The Wall” is going to be fully centered on the battle for the wall. I’m fully hoping and expecting to see lot’s of giants especially considering we haven’t seen too much of the Dragons this year, there should be quite a lot left in the CGI Budget. If you want a sneak peak of that episode then check it out below

 

2 comments

  1. Haven’t watched the episode yet so can’t say much of what they’ve done with Sansa, but her growing up and learning the game from Littlefinger was always part of her storyline. It’s why she’s my favourite character in the books, and why I would not be surprised if she eventually kills Littlefinger.

    1. Hmmm, yeah that’s an interesting one. Maybe by poison!

      The way the whole Lysa being killed has been completley changed in the show. The Royce’s now know that Sansa is Sansa and not Alayne. So interesting to see how this pans out.

Leave a Reply

