Game of Thrones: “Oathkeeper” Quick Thoughts

Before I start a couple of things. There will be spoilers, don’t go moaning at me when you read something that you haven’t already watched yet ok? If you do I will hold you in as high regard as I hold Dany’s story lines. Secondly, I’m not going to go through everything that happens in the episode, just little things that popped into my head as I watched. Sorted? Good, off we go.

We are coming up to the halfway stage of this season of GoT and it really has been a cracker so far. We have had Dany marching past dead children to Mereen and magically conjuring up some catapults from somewhere (seriously, how the hell could they have travelled the mountain roads?!) to throw broken slave chains at it’s walls. There has been Jaime being told where to go by Cersei who has turned into nothing more than a drunk middle aged woman at this point. Oberyn Martell has been introduced to us and nothing more than a full size version of Tyrion who also likes to sleep with men and of course we have had the death of King Douche himself; Joffrey.
As someone who has read the books (herein referred to as book wanker) then most of GoT becomes me just waiting in anticipation for things to happen. I was shaking in anticipation of the Red Wedding and when Joff was being an insufferable little shit to Tyrion at his own wedding I was shaking again, just waiting for the poison to take effect, it’s exhilarating even though you know what is about to happen. That being said my favourite episodes, or at least part episodes of GoT are when the story lines deviate from the book so much that I have no idea what is going on, I like to be surprised. Oathkeeper’s second half specifically had so much going on that is not in the books that I just sat there with my mouth wide open just taking it all in.
Karl Tanner - Leader of the Mutineers. Willem Dafoe's Lovechild

Karl Tanner – Leader of the Mutineers. Willem Dafoe’s Lovechild

Now we all know that Joffrey was a detestable little shit and Ramsay Bolton certainly runs him close on the show for sheer scumbaggery but my goodness, Karl – ex brother of the nights watch and leader of the mutiny at Craster’s Keep, he is one hell of a scary bloke. Part of that is down to the fact that he looks like the love child of Willem Dafoe and Lee Evans but still, when he opened his mouth he became one of the most truly despicable characters on the show (shame he will probably get speared through the heart by Longclaw net week). I was fully expecting to not be interested at all in the story of the heroic Jon Snow (now slipped back into his northern, but not so northern voice) ranging out beyond the wall to exterminate the mutineers but with the revelation that Ghost is being held captive and now Bran and the gang are as well I’m very much looking forward to seeing what happens. Will we see another instance of relatives just missing each other with Bran escaping while Jon Snow is fighting outside or will we actually see a small reunion of one half of the remaining Stark children? Who know’s but part of me would like to see a scene with the Starks coming together and the fact that Bran has so little to do this season it would mean the actor would earn his wage actually having to act a scene.The ending of Oathkeeper had me just saying to myself “what the hell is going on, what the hell is this place, WHO THE HELL IS THAT?” Part of me thought I had switched over to reruns of Buffy the Vampire Slayer when we get to see who, I am assuming, is the Night’s King. The character design there was pretty terrible but who cares he turned a babies eyes blue!

Anyway, roll on Episode 5; “The First of His Name” and fingers crossed that Dany becomes less boring, Karl somehow survives and the Direwolves get to have some revenge.

Where's Buffy when you need her?

Where’s Buffy when you need her?

Leave a Reply

